Rural local bodies in Tamil Nadu held two phases on the 27th and 30th of last month. Elections were held for 27 districts out of a total of 37 districts. The election is not held because the Chennai district is located in the Madras Corporation area.

Due to confusion in the newly separated districts and the implementation of the reservation, the elections were not held in the nine districts of Kancheepuram, Chengalpattu, Vellore, Tiruppattur, Ranipettai, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Paddy and Thenkasi. In the remaining districts, there were elections for filling 91 thousand 975 posts in rural local bodies. During the first round of voting, 76.19 percent of the votes cast. The turnout was 77.73 percent.

Vote counting is underway at 315 centers in Tamil Nadu. Counting begins at 8 am. However, the number of votes has been delayed in a few places. 

* The counting of votes has been delayed due to the absence of polling booths and election centers in Madurai.

* Delay in voter turnout in Arani Union

* Delay in ballot count due to lack of postal ballot keys

* Thiruvallur: Voting delay due to inability to open ballot boxes in Kummidipoondi