Vaiko became the Rajya Sabha MP after long years. He was formally sworn in at the Rajya Sabha today. It is significant that he took oath in Tamil then.

Elections to the six vacant Rajya Sabha posts were held on 18 July. Mohammed Khan, Chandrasekhar and Bamaka’s Anumani filed nominations on behalf of the AIADMK. Wilson, Shanmugam, DMK on behalf of DMK Supporters of the DMK including General Secretary Vaiko filed the nomination papers. Since only 6 candidates filed for all six positions, they were all elected without competition.

Vaiko, then elected General Secretary of the Rajya Sabha, was sworn in as the MP. Vaiko sworn in as Rajya Sabha MP in Tamil, promising to stand up for Indian sovereignty
Rajya Sabha MP Vaiko has strongly condemned the Tamil Nadu government’s move on the issue of building Andhra Pradesh barriers across the Palaru.

Earlier today Vaiko, met National Congress Party President Farooq Abdullah at his residence in Delhi. In a statement issued by MDMK, the two sides exchanged their views on the protection of the rights of the states and the current political situation.