Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: All you need to know about Dwarka Vidhan Sabha constituency

Dwarka constituency: The seat will go for polls on February 8. The constituency of Dwarka is facing a bit of a peculiar electoral situation. Sitting MLA Adarsh Shastri, who had won the seat for the Aam Aadmi Party in the 2015 Delhi state assembly elections, will not be contesting for the same party once again as he quit AAP after being denied a ticket in this election. Shastri will now contest the Dwarka assembly seat this year on a Congress ticket.

The Dwarka constituency first came into existence in 2008 and its first representative was Congress’ Mahabal Mishra. However, in 2009, a By-poll was necessitated and BJP’s Pradyuman Rajpur won the seat in the 2009 By-poll as well as in the 2013 Delhi state assembly elections. In the 2015 polls, AAP’s Adarsh Shastri emerged victorious. Dwarka is, therefore, one of the constituencies which have not really been consistent with their votes and have frequented between parties in successive assembly polls. This factor ought to work for or against the parties contesting the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020, depending on the situation. 

Dwarka is an affluent sub-city of Delhi with a largely cosmopolitan population, which is a significant vote bank for all parties.

In the 2013 Delhi state assembly elections, BJP’s Pradyuman Rajput with 42,734 votes had defeated AAP’s Ravi Kumar Suryan (37,537 votes), but in 2015 Delhi state assembly polls, BJP’s Pradyuman Rajput lost to AAP’s Adarsh Shastri by a huge margin of over nearly 40,000 votes.

This year, Adarsh Shastri will be contesting the Dwarka assembly constituency once again, but as a Congress candidate. Against Shastri, the BJP has pitched its faith once again on two-time contender Pradyuman Rajput. AAP, on the other hand, given the ticket to Vinay Kumar Mishra to contest the Dwarka assembly seat this time. A close contest among all the three parties is likely. 

The constituency of Dwarka is a part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and lies in the South West Delhi district. One of the most sought-after areas in Delhi, the sub-city of Dwarka is often considered Asia’s largest residential area. As such, city-based factors like the construction of roads, urban infrastructure, civic planning and the issue of safety of women are expected to play an important electoral factor.

The Dwarka assembly constituency has 1,99,223 prospective voters, out of which 1,13,115 are male, 86,101 are female, and 7 are transgenders.

In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020, AAP will be contesting from all 70 seats for the assembly polls while BJP will be contesting on 67 seats, with its ally Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) contesting on the remaining three seats.

On the other hand, Congress will fight on 66 seats and its ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) will fight on the remaining 4 seats.

Polling will be held at 13,750 polling stations. According to the poll body chief, total electors in the final electoral roll of the NCT of Delhi as on January 6, 2020, are 1,46,92,136.

The polls for all the seats will be held on February 8, 2020, and the results will be declared on February 11, 2020.

It is to be noted that in 2015, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had a landmark victory after it secured 67 of the total 70 seats in the state legislature. The party is now eyeing a second consecutive term banking on freebies that it provided to Delhiites including free water, free electricity up to 200 units, free ride for women in DTC and cluster buses, among other measures.

Courtesy : DNA

Follow Me:

Related Posts