The Congress on Monday released the second list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Delhi, declaring nominees for seven more seats. 

In the first list released on Saturday, the party had announced 54 candidates. Delhi has 70 assembly seats. 

Congress’ opponents the AAP and the BJP have declared candidates for 70 and 57 seats, respectively. 

Tuesday is the last day to file nomination for the February 8 election. 

In the second list of candidates, the Congress has fielded Romesh Sabharwal against Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)  candidate Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi seat.

Former Congress MLAs Amrish Gautam and Bhisham Sharma, who had joined BJP earlier, have been given Congress tickets from Kondli and Ghonda constituencies respectively, ANI reported. 

Former Delhi University Students’ Union president Rocky Tuseed has been fielded from Rajinder Nagar constituency. 

Here is the full list of seven candidates: 

S.N. Constituency Candidate
1. Tilak Nagar S Raminder Singh Bamrah
2. Rajinder Nagar  Rocky Tuseed 
3. New Delhi Romesh Sabharwal
4. Badarpur   Pramod Kumar Yadav 
5. Kondli – SC  Amareesh Goutham
6. Ghonda  Bhisham Sharma 
7. Karawal Nagar  Arbind Singh

Delhi Assembly elections will be held on February 8 while counting of votes will be conducted on February 11. The ruling AAP is locked in a triangular contest with the BJP and the Congress but is favourite to retain the Union Territory.

Nominations for the Delhi elections began last Tuesday and the last date to file the papers is January 21. The scrutiny of nominations will take place on January 22 while the last date of withdrawal of candidature is January 24.

Courtesy : DNA

Leave a comment